Press Release

TMC Announces 12 Scholarship Program

Sep 19, 2023

Scholarship Grants Help Students Train for Technician, Engineering Careers

Cleveland, Ohio – Today, American Trucking Associations’ Technology & Maintenance Council announced the names of 12 students who have been awarded scholarships to pursue careers as commercial vehicle technicians and engineers. The scholarships are managed by TMC’s Technician & Educator Committee in partnership with several technical schools, industry vendors and organizations.

“Finding innovative solutions to our industry’s ongoing technician shortage is a priority for TMC, and the Council is pleased to be able to partner with WyoTech, Western Technical College, Lincoln Tech, University of Northwest Ohio and SAE to bring these scholarship opportunities to fruition,” said TMC Executive Director Robert Braswell. “These initiatives provide greater choice for deserving scholarship-seeking students looking to prepare for a career as a commercial vehicle technician.”

Four additional students were named 2023 recipients of the Council’s TMC/Lincoln Tech/NADC Diesel Truck Technician Scholarship, with each award equaling a half-scholarship for a 1,200- to 1,560-hour training program at one of six Lincoln Technical Institute/Lincoln College of Technology schools in: Denver; Indianapolis; Nashville; Grand Prairie, Texas; East Windsor, Connecticut; or South Plainfield, New Jersey. The winners were: Austin Adams, Greensberg, Indiana; Karter Ribble, Plainwell, Michigan; Levi Astrella, Griswold, Connecticut; and Logan Wright, Akron, Colorado.

Anthony McCarty of Ubly, Michigan was named the 2023 TMC/University of Northwest Ohio Scholar, which consists of an award for tuition in the amount of up to $20,000. Another three students were named this year’s winners of the Council‘s TMC/WyoTech Diesel Truck Technician Scholarship, which consists of a partial scholarship of up to $5,000 each. The winners were Seth Landolt, Tillamook, Oklahoma; Elizabeth Anderson, Continental Divide, New Mexico; and Cesar Ramirez, Deming, New Mexico.

David Amparan, Jr., El Paso, Texas, and Samuel Regalado, Caballo, New Mexico, were awarded the 2023 TEC/Western Tech Scholarship, a 50% scholarship for tuition only in an amount up to $15,256.50 in Western Tech’s AOS Degree Program in Diesel Mechanics/Diesel Technology.

The Council also announced the winners of this year’s TMC/SAE Donald D. Dawson Technical Scholarship, which is granted to students pursuing an undergraduate degree in automotive engineering. Two $1,500 scholarships, which can be renewed for three years and used for tuition or any other incidental school expenses, were awarded to Brian Edgar, Santa Barbara, California, and John Cassell, Woodstock, Vermont.

A complete list of scholarship rules is featured on the application and can be found on TMC’s website Completed scholarship application packages for 2024 must be received by the TMC office by April 15, 2024 and winners will be notified by May 15, 2024.

By providing leadership support and opportunities to collaborate, TMC helps members develop the industry’s best practices that address the critical truck technology and maintenance issues that have the greatest impact on truck fleets. For more than 60 years, TMC’s member-driven Recommended Maintenance and Engineering Practices have been setting the standards that help trucking companies specify and maintain their fleets more effectively. Follow TMC on Twitter, LinkedIn and Facebook.