

Is Image Important?

If you're passionate about improving the image of the trucking industry, then you won't want to miss your chance to apply for the Mike Russell Trucking Image Award. Since its inception in 2007, this highly coveted award has recognized companies, organizations, and individuals who have made exceptional efforts to promote positive awareness of the trucking industry.

Despite progress on policy, the trucking industry still faces unfair media coverage and misguided legislative and regulatory efforts that hurt our industry and the economy. That's why it's more important than ever to improve the way people view our essential and robust industry.

The Mike Russell Trucking Image Award celebrates the creativity and dedication of those who are committed to generating positive awareness of the trucking industry. By showcasing the innovative and novel ways that nominees have promoted trucking over the last year, this award helps to raise the profile of the industry and inspire others to follow suit.

Our expert and impartial panel of judges will evaluate all submissions based on the following criteria: creativity, frequency and reach/impact, and execution. We want to see innovative and novel approaches that effectively engage a significant and relevant audience while upholding the highest standards of quality and professionalism.

Don't miss this opportunity to be recognized for your exceptional efforts and contributions to the trucking industry. Submit your entry to ataindustryaffairs@trucking.org or mail it to the ATA Industry Affairs Department at 80 M Street S.E., Suite 800, Washington, DC 20003 no later than August 6, 2024.

So don't wait - apply today and help us continue to move trucking forward!

How are you bringing new friends into the industry?

The Mike Russell Trucking Image Award celebrates companies, organizations and individuals who creatively generate positive awareness of the trucking industry. Without the support of these leaders, the benefits of an improved image of the trucking industry would not be possible.

CRITERIA

Submissions will be evaluated by an expert impartial panel of judges based on the following criteria:

- CREATIVITY What innovative or novel ways has the nominee promoted the image of trucking over the last year?
- FREQUENCY & REACH/IMPACT Efforts should reach a significant and relevant audience.
- EXECUTION All communications in the campaign should reflect the highest standards of quality and professionalism. Entries should include examples of any return on investment.

SUBMISSIONS

Please submit all entries to: Industry Affairs 80 M Street S.E., Suite 800 Washington, DC 20003 Or email them to: ataindustryaffairs@trucking.org
All entries must be
submitted to the ATA Industry Affairs Department no later than August 6, 2024.

Our 2023 Winners:











Bob Bramwell

Florida Trucking Association

Idaho Trucking Association

Rob Phillips Phillips Industries

Total Transportation of Mississippi

BOB BRAMWELL, for his passion to teach everyone around him including drivers and students in the classroom about Sharing The Road.

FLORIDA TRUCKING ASSOCIATION, for their efforts to raise awareness about safety and encourage and educate the public on trucking career opportunities. This association executed a robust social media campaign that tracked views and then followed up with viewers to engage them more. In just one weeks worth of data they saw more than 1.2 million impressions.

IDAHO TRUCKING ASSOCIATION, for their efforts to introduce the future workforce to careers in the transportation

industry with an outreach program that brings a truck simulator to local events. They launched a website and their workforce council has experienced a 100% uptick in clicks to learns more about their CDL programs.

PHILLIPS INDUSTRIES, for creating Phillips innovations and continuing to push boundaries which has brought an elevated level of safety, sustainability, driver comfort and automation to the industry.

TOTAL TRANSPORTATION OF MISSISSIPPI, for their efforts to kick start events that help service members transfer their existing skills to obtain a CDL.

Nominations:

AWARD CATEGORIES:

- Motor Carrier
- Industry Supplier / Allied Member
- Association or Organization
- Driver/Owner-Operator

TO INCLUDE WITH YOUR NOMINATIONS:

All nomination packets must include the following:

Information Page that includes:

- Nomination Category
 Phone
- ☐ Nominee ☐ Email
- ☐ Title ☐ Nominator and
- ☐ Organization Contact Information

☐ Address (if different than nominee)

Campaign Materials Including:

☐ Description of Campaign ☐ Supporting Materials

Previous Award Winners:

2022:

- TrueNorth
- Northern Industrial Training
 Northern Alter Industrial
- Ken Calhoun, Altec Industries
- The Alabama Trucking Association

2021:

- Carbon Express
- Indiana Motor Truck Association
 Wavne Crowder America's Road
- Team Captain, FedEx Freight
- John Walsh Mack Trucks

2020:

- Rhonda Hartman, Old Dominion Freight Line
- Nebraska Trucking Association
- Nebraska Trucking Associatio
 J&M Tank Lines

2019-

- Minnesota Trucking Foundation
- Coventant Transport
- Pilot Flying J
 Kovin Burch Lot
- Kevin Burch, Jet Express
- Steve Fields, YRC Freight and America's Road Team Captain

2018:

- Tennessee Trucking Association Foundation
- Werner Enterprises Inc.
- Pilot Flying J
- Don Logan, FedEx Freight and America's Road Team
- Honorable Mention:
 St. Christopher's Fund

2017:

- Load One
- Arkansas Trucking Association
- Truckers Against Trafficking
- America's Road Team Captain Herschel Evans of Holland Inc.

2016:

- Garner Trucking
- Help, Inc.
- lowa Motor Truck Association
- John Lex of Walmart Transportation

2015:

- Con-way, Inc.
- FASTPORT
- Tennessee Trucking Association Foundation
- The late Russell Gerdin of Heartland Express, Inc.
- Ralph Garcia of ABF Freight System, Inc.

2014:

- Jet Express, Inc.
- Combined Transport, Inc.
- Great West Casualty Company
- Texas Trucking Association

2013:

- . Diversified Transfer and Storage
- Colorado Motor Carriers Association
- Nevada Trucking Association
- OmniTracs

2012:

- YRC Worldwide
- Travel Centers of America
- Nevada Trucking Association

2011:

- Baylor Trucking, Inc.
- Mack Trucks, Inc.
- Minnesota Trucking AssociationTennessee Trucking Association
- Termessee Trucking Association

2010:

- United Parcel Service
- Michelin North America
- Florida Trucking Association

2009:

- Pottles Transportation
- West Virginia Trucking Association

2008:

• Bridgestone Bandag Tire Solutions

2007:

• Don Hayden, M & M Cartage, Inc.



The Mike Russell Trucking Image Award is named in honor of Mike Russell, a trucking industry supporter and former ATA Vice President of Public Affairs.

The winners of the Mike Russell Trucking Image
Award will be announced during our
Management Conference & Exhibition.

Visit www.trucking.org for MCE details.

The 2024 Mike Russell Trucking Image Award
is sponsored by

GREAT WEST CASUALTY COMPANY

The Difference is Service®

CONTACT INFO:

American Trucking Associations
The Mike Russell Trucking Image Award
80 M Street S.E. Suite 800
Washington, DC 20003

Questions? Please email ataindustryaffairs@trucking.org



